New Excellence in Teaching Award Display Installed

Join us as we honor our heritage of exemplary faculty with our newly installed Excellence in Teaching Award display. The new Excellence in Teaching display was installed in Looper Hall last week and featured last year's winner, Jenna LaFlamme. Ms. LaFlamme serves as one of our English instructors and the Assistant Director of the Distinguished Scholars Program. We are blessed to have you as part of the HC family!

Each year, at graduation, Houston Christian reveals the winner of the Excellence in Teaching Award. To be nominated, the full-time teacher must have taught at HC for a minimum of two years and meet the following criteria:
» Actively works with students to develop leadership abilities
» Mastery of effective teaching strategies that challenge and inspire learners to excel
» Exhibits concern for student welfare and their personal, spiritual, and academic growth
» Consistently portrays the Christian virtues we strive to instill in our
» Reflects a spirit of teamwork that supports the Mission, Vision, and Core Values of HCHS

Previous Recipients include:
2001-2002 Bill Munson, Visual Art
2002-2003 Linwood Brown, Mathematics
2003-2004 Tom Wilson, Mathematics
2004-2005 Jim Kelley, Science
2005-2006 Jennifer Taylor, Bible
2006-2007 Shonda Majors, Science
2007-2008 Christine Metoyer, History
2008-2009 Joe Mellor, Math
2009-2010 Karen Kline, Fine Arts: Orchestra
2010-2011 Kevin Sivils, Social Sciences
2011-2012 Susan Perry, English
2012-2013 John Lister, Math
2013-2014 Linda Oldham, Science
2014-2015 Sam Mendizabal, World Language
2015-2016 Egypt Armstrong, Social Sciences
2016-2017 Kathleen Coussens, Latin
2017-2018 Jill Skufka, Bible
2018-2019 Pam McClendon, Social Sciences
2019-2020 Bobby Linhart, Fine Arts: Theatre
2020-2021 Regan Ray, Math